ASCE’s Honors and Awards program recognizes the commendable achievements and remarkable accomplishments of the civil engineering profession.  With more than 80 awards, the program distinguishes the unique contributions engineers make to both the industry and society.

View the list of Society Award Winners.

Mississippi Section Awards

The Mississippi Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers accepts nominations each year for two awards, Engineer of the Year and Young Engineer of the Year. These nominations are reviewed and ranked by the ASCE MS Section Awards Committee. The awards are then presented to each recipient at the annual ASCE MS Section meeting.

Nominate a colleague for an ASCE MS Section Award today. See below for qualifications and deadlines of each award.


Young Engineer of the Year Award

The Young Engineer of the Year Award recognizes a younger member of ASCE (35 years of age or younger) who has advanced the profession; exhibited technical competence, high character and integrity; developed improved member attitudes toward the profession; and contributed to public service outside their professional careers.

  2018 Young Engineer of the Year Award Nomination Form

A list of past winners as well as this year's featured winner can be found here.


Engineer of the Year Award

The Engineer of the Year Award recognizes a Society member who has contributed substantially to the status of the engineering profession by establishing a reputation for professional service and ethics.

  2018 Engineer of the Year Award Nomination Form

A list of past winners as well as this year's featured winner can be found here.


The Mississippi Section of ASCE awards up to four $750 scholarships every year to support higher learning in civil engineering.  Applicants must be a full-time civil engineering undergraduate at a 4-year ABET accredited Mississippi university.  Applicants must complete an application and submit a typed one-page essay on a topic selected by the officers of ASCE.  The following criteria will be used to award the scholarships to applicants:  academic performance, awards and honors, extracurricular involvement, need, and the written essay.

2018-2019 Topic:  “What role do politics play in engineering? In your opinion, what role should politics play in engineering?

2018-2019 Scholarship Application
The application deadline for the 2018-2019 Scholarship is October 31, 2018.  See the list of past winners below:


2018-2019 Scholarship Winners

Jennifer Hoang - MSU
Patrick Stanley - JSU

2017-2018 Scholarship Winners

Eric Blackmon - MSU
Amanda Bryan - MSU

2016-2017 Scholarship Winners

Amber Frederick - MSU
Augustus Raymond - MSU

2015-2016 Scholarship Winners

Amber Frederick - MSU
Jonathan Drannan - MSU
Alex Bohannon - MSU
Jing Liao - MSU

2014-2015 Scholarship Winners

Alex Bohannon - MSU
Augustus Raymond - MSU
Sabrina Welch - JSU
Jonathan Malone - JSU

2013-2014 Scholarship Winners

Calvin Brown - MSU
Patrick Kuykendall - MSU
Ibrihim Hinds - JSU
Grace McMahon - Ole Miss

2012-2013 Scholarship Winners

Andy Odenthal - MSU
Sam Rhoads - JSU
Gracey Morgan - MSU
Samantha Frederick - MSU

2011-2012 Scholarship Winners

Ben Cox - MSU
Yulian Kebede - JSU
Paul Forster - JSU
Mitchell Young

Special Projects Fund

The student chapters may request additional funds from the ASCE Mississippi Section.  These funds are in addition to the yearly allotment each student chapter receives.  This request will be reviewed and approved by the current ASCE Mississippi Section officers and board of directors.  To apply for additional funds, fill out the forms below and email to the current section president. 

Student Chapter Additional Funds Request